Italian Food Fest!

Late last week, either Thursday or Friday, was another night where I had the joy to be cooking for the people that have let me into their homes and tolerated with me for the entire two plus weeks that I’ve been in California. For me, the best way I can show my thankfulness and appreciation, besides thanking them over and over, is by cooking them a wonderful dinner at least once a week. This week I made an Italian feast! I began the meal with a tomato caprese salad. I began with some fresh tomatoes, sliced them thinly, placed some mozzarella  on top, a little bit of fresh  basil, some salt and pepper and then topped with another tomato slice with more fresh basil and a little bit of olive oil and pepper.

TomatoCaprese

 

Then it came to the vodka sauce. Now, what I am going to tell you is going to mortify most home cooks. I do not use recipes. There, I said it. 98% of the food I make RARELY comes from a recipe. And if it does, it usually gets modified and usually a lot of modifications are made. I can give you a general listing of ingredients to make said sauce but you would have to use your own palate to make sure it fits your taste.

Ingredients:

  • 2-3 Fresh tomatoes, diced
  • 32 oz can Contadina tomato paste or sauce.
  • Green onions
  • 1 Bulb garlic
  • Vodka, any type you drink will do
  • The following herbs and spices, to taste:
    – Oregano, Parsley, Basil, Garlic Powder, Onion Powder, Salt and Pepper.
  • Heavy Cream.

Basically it is like any sauce recipe. Saute up the diced tomatoes, green onions, and garlic.  Splash a little bit of vodka in before you add the tomato paste. Add your herbs and spices and allow it to simmer for a little bit. Once you’ve checked the flavor a few times as your sauce cooks down, add a little more vodka and some heavy cream. I only use enough heavy cream in order to change the color of the sauce a tiny bit. Once its to your liking, serve it over pasta and meatballs (And if you’re vegetarian, you can use this sauce in a variety of ways because it is meat-free!!!).

I know it is a very slap dash sauce but the flavors are extraordinary and are great for a nice summer time meal!

Cheers and enjoy!
XO, Christy B

Leave a Reply

