A Little Story About College and Food

As the newest semester begins, I return to my campus up in the Niagara Falls area. I think the hardest thing college kids have to go through is the nutritional change of college food. Gone are the days of being sent to school with a sandwich and snacks from your parents and having a set lunch time everyday. Time to break the cold harsh truth to all of it, time to play with the big kids.

There is no set lunch time. If you want food, you buy it or use your meal plan. 

This means you’ll be on your own to find a meal, find time to eat said meal, and maybe relax for a few moments. For college students, some professors are even nice enough to allow food and drinks in class as long as it doesn’t disrupt the entire class. And as a student, you begin to loathe that person who brings a bag of chips to class and crunches away while you’re taking notes through the semester.

Unfortunately, these are the cold hard facts. If you live at home, that’s fine and dandy! Living at home takes away most of the temptations of eating your stress away in french fries, chicken fingers, pizzas and coffee. But the temptation is still there. Luckily, schools like mine are starting to realize this pattern too. They are instilling some healthier and lighter meals for their students. So while the slice of pizza is okay for lunch a few times a week, especially if you’re running to class at around noon, sandwiches and salads are now available for students on the go. I learned a phrase from a person very close to me that I want to share with anyone who reads this blog.

“Everything is good in moderation, especially moderation!”

So I’m not saying give up the pizza and the chicken fingers. Hell, I love pizza and I often crave french fries when I’m stuck reading 200 pages for my blasted computer course. But remember that you can substitute foods on occasion. One thing I do is one night I will have a little bit of fries with my salad when I go to the resident’s dining hall. Not a plateful but a handful. The key to eating healthy in college is balance. If you’re having a bad night and you want pizza, have pizza! If you want soup, salad and a sandwich while you study, for the love of all that is good in this world, have at it! Take it from someone who loves her food, sometimes the best way to make it through the day is to make the tummy happy.  

Happy tummy, happy student, happy life!

So that’s my food for thought for today! Thank you for reading, and I hope to post again soon!

XO,
Christy B

Leave a Reply

