Christy’s Throwback Day: Produced in New York State Apple Competition

Back in the day, I was a 4-Her with a food addiction and the ability (read: opportunity) to participate in the Produced in New York State Apple Competition. So, after deciding I was going to do this, I decided I was going to take a chance and redo the recipe of a famous chef.

After surfing the internet, I found Mario Batali’s recipe for Torta di Mele (Apple Cake). Being the punk that I was/am, I decided to revamp the entire recipe and make it healthy and my own. SEVEN ATTEMPTS LATER: I was able to make an Apple Upside Down Tart that is not only delicious but good for you. This was when I was 14 years old.

Flash forward to this year, I decided  that I was ready to try this recipe again. I went searching for my dreaded poster board from my 4-H days and I was able to find it. After gathering all of my ingredients, I set to work and made this delicious little tart. I’m so extremely glad I was able to do this and am ready to share it with you! You can put your own little spin on it by picking how you want to lay your apples or whatever. Remember to have fun and enjoy the end product.

AppleTart
The final product in 2016!

Christy’s Upside Down Apple Tart:

Ingredients

  • 2 small apples (I used Gala this time but Granny Smiths work well too!)-sliced in half, can be peeled or unpeeled
  • 1 cup Whole Wheat Flour
  • 1/2 cup Honey
  • 2 Eggs, separated (put in separate bowls)
  • 3/8 cups Milk
  • 1 package Instant Yeast
  • 1/4 teaspoon Cinnamon
  • 1/8 cup Wheat Germ

Preheat oven to 375 degrees (Fahrenheit). Put mixing bow and whip attachment for mixer into fridge to cool. Grease an 8 inch baking pan, line the bottom with parchment paper and spray again. Line the sides with extra wheat germ to create a crust.

Thinly slice apples and set aside in a bowl of cool water with lemon juice added to it. In a medium bowl, put in the flour, instant yeast, cinnamon and wheat germ. Make a well in the center and add the honey, egg yolks and milk. Stir until ingredients are combined.

Using a stand mixer, add the egg whites to the bowl and whip until they form firm glossy peaks. Gently fold the egg whites into the batter, leaving a few white streaks so as not to over mix the batter.

Dry apple slices slightly before decoratively laying them in the bottom of the pan. Gently pour the cake on top of the apple slices, using a rubber spatula to guide and spread the batter evenly. Bake on the middle shelf of the oven until a pick comes out clean- approximately 30 minutes.

Best served with a glass of sweet white wine (I had a glass of A Gust of Sun’s Sweet Diamond- any sweet white will do) and a scoop of vanilla bean ice cream.

CHEERS!

Leave a Reply

